Thank you to our Sponsors and Volunteers who made the 2nd Annual Journey by Foor event a success!

Thank you to our Sponsors and Volunteers who made the 2nd Annual Journey by Foor event a success!




©2012 Doctor¹s Associates Inc. SUBWAY® is a registered trademark of Doctor¹s Associates Inc.


Ahmad Nooristani, M.D., Board of Directors

Ann Rempe, Board of Directors

Celeste Gray, Board of Directors

Dan Carpenter, Board of Directors

Dan Troy, Board of Directors

John Fowler, Board of Directors

Rod Youngquist, Board of Directors

Beca Ponce (1st annual event coordinator)

Jackie Perrine (2nd annual event coordinator)

Andrea Devitt (event advisor)

Scott Cusick (sponsorship leader)

Abby Goldstein, R.N.

Alyson Marin

Andrew Mazzone

Ariel Tormey

Barbara George

Betty Sorrentino, R.N.

Carly Glenn

Debi Stimpson, R.N.

Dee Dell’Era

Donna Matthews, R.N.

Leandra Conley

Liz Hanson (silent auction)

Meredith Long

Michele Mele

Sharon Brady

Shilpa Patel

Susan Gossard

Susan Harris

Officers from Vandenberg Air Force Base:

TSgt David Peria, Volunteer Coordinator

Brendon Robertson

Jaime Escobar

Jessie Carter

Jonathan Watts

Jose Bursiaga

Joseph Howerton

Kuan Chen

Paul Lillie

Richard Browell

Ryan Wayson

Steve Mize

T.J. Dinkleman

Thiago Huxely

Timmy Clinkscales

United Way Awards $85,000 to Local Nonprofit Programs

United Way Awards $85,000 to Local Nonprofit Programs

By Rick London | United Way of San Luis Obispo County
June 29, 2019

San Luis Obispo, Calif. – United Way of San Luis Obispo County brought the year to a successful close by awarding $85,000 in grants and awards to local health and human service programs that provide the community with a wide array of resources.

As part of United Way’s annual Community Impact Fund grant process, more than 30 community volunteers reviewed 39 grant applications, requesting financial support to help meet some of the most pressing needs in San Luis Obispo County.  After careful consideration, 22 grants totaling $80,000 were awarded in the areas of education, income and health.

The United Way of San Luis Obispo County Innovation Award recognizes a local not-for-profit organization for inventive approaches and programs.  The 2012 recipient is the SLO Noor Foundation Free Clinic, dedicated to providing the under-served and disadvantaged of SLO County with the free access to quality acute, non-emergent healthcare.  The clinic opened in October, 2011, taking appointments on Friday and Saturday afternoons; with the help of hundreds of volunteers, the clinic provides some $30,000-worth of medical services each month.  The clinic was selected as the Innovation Award recipient for meeting an important local need, while working collaboratively with a variety of individuals and organizations.  “The SLO Noor Clinic is honored to have been chosen by United Way of San Luis Obispo County for this year’s Innovation Award in Health,” said Dr. Ahmad Nooristani, Founder and Executive Director of the SLO Noor Clinic.  “This much needed funding will go to help provide health care services for the uninsured in our community.”

The $5,000 award was made possible in 2012 by its founder, Don Maruska of Don Maruska & Company, Inc., IQMS and RRM Design Group.

“Through the generosity and thoughtfulness of our donors, volunteer grant readers and local nonprofit organizations, United Way of San Luis Obispo County is grateful to advance the common good with resources that will make a difference in the lives of the men, women, children and families that live throughout San Luis Obispo County.  Every year we look forward to investing in programs that help our youth achieve their potential, help local families become financially stable and help improve everyone’s health,” said Rick London, CEO, United Way of San Luis Obispo County.

All grant and award recipients were recognized at United Way’s Annual Recognition Event on Wednesday, June 6.  For more information about United Way of SLO County, Community Impact Fund grants or the Innovation Award, visit or call (805) 541-1234.  Donations for future Community Impact Fund grants can be sent to United Way of SLO County, P.O. Box 14309, San Luis Obispo, CA 93406.

Photos: 1) Representatives from the 22 programs receiving Community Impact Fund grants collectively accept a check; 2) Dr. Ahmad Nooristani accepts the Innovation Award (from left Rick London, United Way; Don Maruska, Don Maruska & Company, Inc.; Liz Maruska; Liz Alflen, IQMS; Dr. Ahmad Nooristani, SLO Noor Foundation; Erik Justesen, RRM Design Group).

# # #

A complete list of Community Impact Fund grant awards is available on the United Way website at

A complete list of Innovation Award recipients is available on the United Way website at